Presidential Commission for University History and Identity



The Presidential Commission for University History and Identity was charged with studying University of Richmond’s history and its implications for our current campus climate and the future by:

  • Exploring how our institutional history is recorded, preserved, and made accessible to a diversity of audiences;
  • Re-examining our past to identify people and narratives previously excluded from our institutional history;
  • And recommending ways to acknowledge and communicate our history inclusively.


  • Edward Ayers, President Emeritus and Tucker-Boatwright Professor of the Humanities (co-chair)
  • Lauranett Lee, Visiting Lecturer, Jepson School of Leadership Studies (co-chair)
  • Ayele d’Almeida ’20, Race and Racism Project student research fellow
  • Gill Hickman, Professor Emerita
  • Amy Howard, AVP for Community Initiatives & CCE
  • Charles Irons, Associate Professor of History and Chair of the Department of History and Geography, Elon University
  • The Honorable Roger L. Gregory, Trustee Emeritus
  • Lynda Kachurek, Head of Rare Books and Special Collections, Boatwright Memorial Library
  • Craig Kocher, University Chaplain
  • Nicole Maurantonio, Associate Professor of Rhetoric and Communication Studies
  • Marilyn Branch Mitchell, W’78
  • Greg Mitchell, R’80
  • Nathan Taylor, Executive Director, Virginia Baptist Historical Society
  • Suzanne F. Thomas, W’61, Trustee
  • Doug Winiarski, Professor of Religion and American Studies


The Commission was convened in November 2018. The co-chairs submitted the Commission’s report to the President in June 2019.